TheAccidentalConservative

the discovery of fundemental values…

My New Blog!

Well my friends, here is my new blog! Long awaited, (by me at least), promised and talked about, planned for and researched until here I am, declaring to the world that in fact, I have something to say (and if you know me, many things to say). This will be my public forum to share thoughts and lessons as it relates mostly to politics, but could cross over to culture, music, religion and all the things on which there is a position to be taken or an opinion to be expressed.

Even if you think you don’t agree with me, actually, especially if you do not agree with me, I invite you to stay with me for a bit as we discover what true conservative values are and you may discover, like I did, that you are far more “conservative” than you think. If you read along for a while, you may decide that indeed you do not agree with me and we can engage in some spirited debate of patriots who disagree about what is best for our county….here’s a taste of what you will find…..

As you know, I am passionately patriotic and find myself quite uncomfortable with the direction the government has taken. So I wanted to get the blog up and running, since Keith and I are going to Washington DC next week to volunteer and march in Tax Payers March on Washington. (It is my hope to get to read my  Tea Party Protest Poem at this event. So far, I am just a volunteer, but…..we will see…..at worst case I will use my Mr. Microphone to gather a small crowd..;-)

My views, mostly conservative, but a bit libertarian, in nature, a student and admirer of the Framers and the great contract of America the Constitution.In the past year, I have embarked on a reading project to study the thoughts and ideas of the Founding Fathers, the process and history of the creation of the constitituion and the historic figures and writings the founders referred to and relied on when creating the constitution. I have been astonished upon learning just how far we have come from those original ideas and the direct line that draws to the ails or our nation.

I am hopeful that as I share the journey I am taking you will learn about the basic principles and values, thoughts and assumptions this unbelievable gathering of genius’ used to formulate the system that offers us the gift of living in the freest nation on earth. These freedoms were planned, spelled out, written down, fought for, bled for, died for. It has always been We the People who have fought for and preserved the greatness of our nation. It is time now to pay attention to protect these essential but fragile freedoms.

The United States was built on a premise of self-reliance, freedom of choice and the grace of valuing and protecting each individual life. As our government makes decisions that move us away from these ideas, while we may feel more secure in knowing government will be taking care of us, we must not forget the very premise which defines this country.

That is that our rights are inalienable and offered to us by the God of the Universe the original source of life, and not granted from government (some men) to its citizens (other men*). “A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have.” (wrongly attributed to Barry Goldwater: actually said by Gerald Ford). The further we move away from small government/low taxes, the more of freedom (= taxes =$ to spend on the life we want) we are losing.

These are my themes, my memes. and if you are interested in joining the conversation, I would love to hear from you. Please bookmark and and check back at your leisure. I am looking forward to some great conversations!

I will try to explain my title, “The Accidental Conservative” in the coming blogs, at it is the story of an evolution rather than a revelation and I want to tell the story in my usual way of making a short story long. But hopefully the story will be told in an entertaining and enlightening way…..(very ambitous I know, so you will need to judge for yourself how I am doing) and I am hopeful you will come along for the ride. I can’t wait to hear from you.

This blog will not be the kind you might check several times a day for updates, but more like a daily essay on whatever topic has captured my attention and interest. I hope you will comment and engage in a conversation with me and each other. My true hope is to create a community of thoughtful readers who enjoy in the exchange and debate of ideas. The more you are able to articulate and defend your values and positions, the more sure you are of what you believe and why. Most of us are easily influenced when all we do is listen to pundits and others without stopping to discern between a variety of perspective. It is my hope to foster this opportunity for you. TA

* I hate the PC gender game, so please know that in this context, men = mankind, men/women, all the folks….

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | Political, Uncategorized | , ,

15 Comments »

  1. YAY, TINA!!!

    Comment by Melissa O in DC | September 6, 2009

  2. I welcome this Blog,
    I appreciate your effort to encourage people to defend their own rights otherwise my friends your current president will, Obama defends your Right;
    You have the right to remain silenced forever

    Comment by Frances Akhavi | September 6, 2009

  3. Fight on, Tina. Your leadership is badly needed in our city, state and nation, and I appreciate your wisdom and tenacity.

    Comment by Connie Lee | September 6, 2009

  4. Tina,
    I’m afraid we’re going to disagree on some things, and you’re not gonna like what I say. Sorry.
    Dave

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 6, 2009

  5. Day in the Life of Joe Middle-Class Republican

    by John Gray

    Joe gets up at 6:00am to prepare his morning coffee. He fills his pot full of good clean drinking water because some liberal fought for minimum water quality standards. He takes his daily medication with his first swallow of coffee. His medications are safe to take because some liberal fought to insure their safety and work as advertised.

    All but $10.00 of his medications are paid for by his employers medical plan because some liberal union workers fought their employers for paid medical insurance, now Joe gets it too. He prepares his morning breakfast, bacon and eggs this day. Joe’s bacon is safe to eat because some liberal fought for laws to regulate the meat packing industry.

    Joe takes his morning shower reaching for his shampoo; His bottle is properly labeled with every ingredient and the amount of its contents because some liberal fought for his right to know what he was putting on his body and how much it contained. Joe dresses, walks outside and takes a deep breath. The air he breathes is clean because some tree hugging liberal fought for laws to stop industries from polluting our air. He walks to the subway station for his government subsidized ride to work; it saves him considerable money in parking and transportation fees. You see, some liberal fought for affordable public transportation, which gives everyone the opportunity to be a contributor.

    Joe begins his work day; he has a good job with excellent pay, medicals benefits, retirement, paid holidays and vacation because some liberal union members fought and died for these working standards. Joe’s employer pays these standards because Joe’s employer doesn’t want his employees to call the union. If Joe is hurt on the job or becomes unemployed he’ll get a worker compensation or unemployment check because some liberal didn’t think he should lose his home because of his temporary misfortune.

    Its noon time, Joe needs to make a Bank Deposit so he can pay some bills. Joe’s deposit is federally insured by the FSLIC because some liberal wanted to protect Joe’s money from unscrupulous bankers who ruined the banking system before the depression.

    Joe has to pay his Fannie Mae underwritten Mortgage and his below market federal student loan because some stupid liberal decided that Joe and the government would be better off if he was educated and earned more money over his life-time.

    Joe is home from work, he plans to visit his father this evening at his farm home in the country. He gets in his car for the drive to dads; his car is among the safest in the world because some liberal fought for car safety standards. He arrives at his boyhood home. He was the third generation to live in the house financed by Farmers Home Administration because bankers didn’t want to make rural loans. The house didn’t have electric until some big government liberal stuck his nose where it didn’t belong and demanded rural electrification. (Those rural Republican’s would still be sitting in the dark)

    He is happy to see his dad who is now retired. His dad lives on Social Security and his union pension because some liberal made sure he could take care of himself so Joe wouldn’t have to. After his visit with dad he gets back in his car for the ride home.

    He turns on a radio talk show, the host’s keeps saying that liberals are bad and conservatives are good. (He doesn’t tell Joe that his beloved Republicans have fought against every protection and benefit Joe enjoys throughout his day) Joe agrees, “We don’t need those big government liberals ruining our lives; after all, I’m a self made man who believes everyone should take care of themselves, just like I have”.

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 6, 2009

  6. Tina, now everyone will begin to share in the journey we have charted with the teaching’s of our parents, pastors, school teachers, children and the numerous friends and family that we have been blessed with in our life. Not failing to mention the part of our own evolution of who we are and how we have had an effect on so many individuals in our young lives.

    Everyone can experience “The America” that we grew up in, that we were taught in and the America we were raised to believe in and respect. You can bet your bottom dollar that the truth and unabridged version of “The Constitution of the United States of America” is a solid point of reference for us and the “Republic, in Which We All Stand”. Just think about it for a minute, this document has well over 400 years of experience in creating and maintaining a Republic and a Country. A very valid test of time for any democracy in my opinion. I still have this vivid, continuous thought in my minds eye. Our forefathers shed their very own blood across this great land just to provide me (and you) the freedom that all Americans have everyday of our life. This has to be a very strong message to the anyone in this world who may question how we feel about our heritage and our country. Anyone.

    As I know you do, I believe in my Country, my Freedom, The Constitution and most importantly, the American Spirit. I am proud to be part of a Republic that is “One Nation under God in Truth and Liberty”.
    Go America !!!

    Comment by Keith's Globe | September 6, 2009

  7. Dave, excellent! I look forward to great debate! T.

    Comment by newagecowgirl | September 6, 2009

  8. My friend Pete sent this response via email. I asked him if could publish in my comment section, as this is exactly the kind of discussion I have hoped would break out.

    He said I could, and so, here are his comments:

    Tina,

    Good luck on your new endeavor as a blogger. You probably know by now that I see myself as a good Democrat (slightly left of center, similar to Bill Cllinton). This is due to my life experiences (family upbringing, education, jobs, travel, etc.) as well interaction with my friends and associates. I am a very strong patriot, and proud of the fact that I served my country as an Army officer from 1966-68 (and up until about 5 years ago, always drove American cars). Although I am not religious, I have strong moral and family values (married to, and faithful to) the same woman for 39 years. I chose to serve young people as an educator for 30 years. And finally, I have been exposed to the business world as a realtor for many years.

    In my opinion, the country has suffered tremendously during this last decade from the divisiveness and hatred spewed from the extremes on both the extreme right and extreme left. If one listens to or reads the talk shows (radio and television) or internet bloggers on the far right and on the far left, you hear almost nothing but negative things from the beginning until the end. (At least some TV shows have someone representing the opposite side on a part of the show–I use to like watching “Hannity and Combs” because throughout most of the show you got to hear both sides of the issues brought up, and each host would temper the words of the other.) Now these shows hardly ever spend much time on specific, positive ways/suggestions on how to fix the problems or do they admit positive contributions from the other side of the spectrum.

    People hear and read this propaganda and often don’t have the inclination or the intelligence to question or vet the information. They pass this “information” (largely talking points from the extreme) to their friends and acquaintances as the real truth and don’t listen to (although they may hear it) an opposing viewpoint. This often leads to distrust and often a certain amount of hatred for those who oppose their own viewpoint–even if it’s from a more centralist position. Furthermore, our leaders are vilified–often referred to with derogatory nicknames. Just the clever insertion of a controversial person’s name or of a controversial organization is enough to light a fire. Unfortunately, there are fewer and fewer people who truly have an open mind and who would be capable of finding and settling on a middle position–although many continue to insist that they are open minded. Instead there are a growing number of people who are so scared and/or brainwashed that they don’t want to look at issues from the other side’s viewpoint.

    Needless to say, I enjoy discussing politics (or any issue) with anyone that can argue their point well using logic and supported by factual evidence rather than just emotionally, parroting talking points which they can’t explain. There have not been many days in the last decade where I have not listened to talk shows from all perspectives OR friends/acquaintances representing all sides of the key issues. As a matter of fact, I am married to a Republican and at least half of my friends are Republicans. One of these good friends is the past Chairman of the Ways and Means Committee, who over the years introduced me to his Republican colleagues as his “token Democrat friend”. Also I know many in business with whom I differ and who have sincere beliefs accompanied by sound arguments. We know that we aren’t about to change the other’s political philosophy. BUT we all try to listen to and respect each other’s viewpoints AND, when the discussion is over, we remain friends. THAT’S THE WAY IT USED TO BE, AND THAT’S THE WAY IT SHOULD BE.

    So I hope that in blogging you encourage people to give as many positive suggestions or solutions (that are specific) as they do negative–and do it using rational arguments and not just emotional generalizations– while at the same time they avoid name calling.

    Pete

    I might even be interested in going to/observing a “tea party”. After all, I have gone to a meeting at the Republican Club in D.C., attended numerous Congressional meetings with only Republicans, and even attended a John Birch Society when I was in graduate school.

    Comment by newagecowgirl | September 6, 2009

  9. “I am passionately patriotic and find myself quite uncomfortable with the direction the government has taken.”

    Tina, I know just how you feel. I too am passionately patriotic and was “quite uncomfortable” when the Republicans had a majority in Congress and a GOP Prez. Don’t worry, these uncomfortable feelings are normal when your side loses a national election. Get over it. You get another shot at being “comfortable with the direction the government has taken” in 2012. Is this a great country or what!

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 7, 2009

  10. U.S. leads world in foreign weapons sales – Fuck yeah! We’re number one at everything!

    And not a one of these will be used against our troops, ever!

    Putting guns in the hands of our enemies is ALWAYS a good idea. After all, guns don’t kill people, ruthless warlords with guns do.

    Next Christmas, when you’re singing “Let there be Peace on Earth”, oh, never mind, don’t think about it.

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 7, 2009

  11. Beatnik Soiree,

    Oh my…hoping to keep civil discourse and not while I did not plan on banning profanity outright, I would appreciate at least waiting until whipped into a frenzy or making an otherwise unexplainable point. This first missive is hardly controversial at all.

    So, a few thoughts…yes, you and Joe are right, it is a good thing to have clean water and minimum safety standards etc. These are things that protect us, the actual role of the Federal Government…but its always a matter of degree, if you ask me, because the next thing you know the central valley farmers are suffering an unnecessary drought causing 50+% unemployment to protect the delta smelt; large swaths of land are rendered unusable to their owners under “federal protection acts”; and finally the Supreme Court of the US (SCOTUS) decides that the local government takes personal property and give it to another citizen because they’ve decided to define the “public good” as the ability to provide a bigger tax base…..so, frankly, I don’t want the government “helping me” all the time.

    As for being uncomfortable with all levers of power in the hands of one party, I am always uncomfortable with a lack of checks. I was so deeply disappointed with R Pres and both houses of congress and they could not seem to cut a single spending program and in fact expanded the beast like they had a mandate. You will notice that all along I have said conservative, not republican. I have learned to distrust both parties and that’s why I cleave to the constitution and the original teaching of the framers and try to hold my ideals based on country not party. Tina Ann

    Comment by newagecowgirl | September 9, 2009

  12. Hi Tina, I only have a second here, but I just want to say thank God you and ALL my conservative friends have cast off any Republican party affiliations. Glad to see you guys came around. But I just have to ask (as a proud, active & lifelong Democrat), which Party do you think your going to vote for next time around? Let me guess, all you Conservatives who typically vote Republican are going to “put it all on Black” and vote for Sarah Palin? The way I see it, you guys might as well, you have no other candidates to put up against Obama in 2012. Me, I’ll be voting Democrat, because if I learned anything from watching third party candidates, it is that yes Virginia, it IS a two party system.

    The GOP doesn’t want your vote anyway.

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 9, 2009

  13. By Daffodil J. Altan in Sep. 9 2009

    No one seemed to bat an eye and or raise even the slightest controversial eyebrow eleven years ago when then President Ronald Reagan huddled a bunch of school-aged rugrats into the oval office and delivered a nationally televised “education” speech that was cluttered with blatant plugs for his administration’s nascent policies and perceived achievements.

    “One of the principal reasons we were able to get the economy back on track and create those new jobs and all was because we cut the taxes,” he said to a roomful of squirmy youngsters who were probably wondering what the hell tax-talk had to do with doing well in school. He mentions “line item vetoes,” gun control, and the need to “reaffirm our traditional moral values” by “turning on to helping” the “negro private colleges and universities.”

    Waaaaht? And people had their kids stay home and boycott their schools yesterday because Obama dared to talk about homework?

    Comment by Andy | September 10, 2009

  14. Just a thought about the Tea Party in DC

    If the get together in DC is not the result of Corporate “Astroturfing”, then it must have been put together by “Community Organizers”? Boy, did I get schooled by you guys about how worthless they are…

    Comment by Beatnik_Soiree | September 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

